top of page
  • Bretta

Compassion through grace and love

A rose has long been seen as a symbol of an expression of love. Actions that demonstrate grace and love can express (show) compassion.

Doing our best regarding the treatment of others sometimes starts with head knowledge and continues with heart actions. We do not always understand everything and we may make mistakes. Once ignorance is no longer an option, (we have learned better) we are responsible for the good we know we should do.

It is nearly impossible to live and love without being hurt. Why? We are imperfect people. Through forgiveness, grace, and love we can rebuild relationships.

When it comes to having compassion, it doesn’t really matter which topic of “differences” are being discussed. The "important" is to acknowledge and accept others through love and grace. We are all different.

To the right person we have value. A right person is someone who knows and loves us, differences and all. Getting to know someone as an individual further bridges the gap of “differences”. As we get to know, love, and show grace toward one another we become the right person in each other’s lives.

  • Compassion can be the mindset we have in regards to developing and maintaining relationships.

  • Grace can be our guide in our attitude toward differences.

  • Love can be the action we choose in both word and deed.

There are three sources that teach (me) head knowledge that can hopefully also help produce heart actions of compassion, grace, and love. Galatians 5:22-23, “But the fruit of the spirit is love, joy, peace, patience, kindness, goodness, gentleness, and self-control. Against these things there is no law.” Colossians 3:12-14 which teaches us how to clothe ourselves, clothing meaning further develop as a part of,"us", our character. These character qualities mentioned in Colossians include; compassion, kindness, humility, gentleness, patience, forgiveness and love. Which pairs well with this last source, 1 Corinthians 13 teaches what love is and is not and how to love one another. We can have compassion for others through grace and more importantly, love.

If you want to read more about concepts of love, the book I have written Love Forever is available for purchase. Love Forever has four sections that discuss love as related to life and relationships. Love First, because it is a choice we can make. Love Now, in the moment. Love Always, applying the principles of love in order to sustain relationships. Love Forever, as love truly is a legacy we can leave behind.

Visit to learn more and to purchase Love Forever or any of the other course books. (written by Bretta Durham) All are also available on

Single Post: Blog_Single_Post_Widget
bottom of page